UMRA Photo Club 2018-2019

Sheri Goldsmith May and Craig Swan, co-conveners

The Photo Club met on the second Friday of each month from September 2018 through June 2019. We scheduled a photo shoot for May 2019 in conjunction with the Minneapolis Open Doors program but the photo shoot was rained out.

We met at the St. Anthony branch of the Hennepin County Library, in the small shopping center at New Brighton and St. Anthony Blvds. A number of members would gather for lunch before each meeting at the Great Dragon Buffet.

We started each meeting with Theme pictures, each member presenting up to five pictures to illustrate the theme for that meeting.

Beginning November 2018 theme pictures were posted on the Photo Club website: <u>https://umraphotoclub.shutterfly.com/</u>

For 2018-19 the themes were

September	Structures
October	Summer
November	Fall
December	Cozy
January	Houses
February	Transportation
March	Signs
April	Details
May	Photo Shoot, but canceled due to rain
June	Twin Cities Metro Area

The rest of each meeting was taken up with members sharing pictures of their own choosing. When a picture was shown the photographer would talk about it: usually some background about the subject matter of the picture, where the picture was taken, what the member was trying to show. Often members would have questions or comments. Sometimes the photographer would have a specific question for the group about some element of the picture, how they cropped the picture or other post processing adjustments. A lively general discussion would ensue. Names on the contact list for the Photo Club as of June 2019:

John Anderson Lynn Anderson Ron Anderson Roger and Jane Arndt Beth Befell Wendy Berkowitz Victor Bloomfield Patricia Brennecke Frank Busta Joe DiSalvo Laura Ericksen Marilynn Erickson Judy Garrard Virginia Hanson **Dave Holets** Dwight Johnson Dick Kain Nancy Kehmeier Calvin and Eleanor Kendall Jean Kinsey

Sherilyn Goldsmith May Bonnie Marten Jan McCulloch David Naumann Claudia Parliament Robert Patterson Chip Peterson Rosa Maria de la Cureva Peterson Donna Peterson Mark Powell Ewa Prochniewicz Kathryn Sado Dennis Skovsted Judy Sullivan Craig Swan Sonny Taylor Mariann Tiblin Carol Urness Barb VanDrasek **Clifton Ware**