Date: September 2, 2020
To: UMRA Archives
From: Jerry Rinehart, Past President and Chair, UMRA 2020 Nominating Committee
Re: Nominating Committee Annual Report

UMRA Bylaws define the Nominating Committee as consisting of five members, including three who are not currently on the Board of Directors, and two current Board members: one of whom is the immediate Past-President, who serves as the Chair. The current President-Elect typically serves as a non-voting member of the nominating committee.

As seen in the ToolKit for the Past President, the call for volunteers for the Nominating Committee was published in the November 2019 UMRA Newsletter. With additional suggestions from current Board members, the nominating committee was identified as follows: Rebecca Anderson, Jean Kinsey, Ron Matross, Frank Cerra, Jerry Rinehart. To address conformity with UMRA bylaws, however, the committee membership was subsequently revised, adding Marjorie Savage as a non-Board member, and identifying Frank Cerra as a nonvoting, ex officio member.

The Committee's first and only in-person meeting was held February 18, 2020. Below is the list of returning members and positions needing replacement or re-election (due to expiration of their original term of service).

Returning Board Members 2020-21

- 1. Will Craig
- 2. Eric Hockert
- 3. Cherie Hamilton
- 4. Claudia Parliament
- 5. KaiMay Terry
- 6. Gloria Williams
- 7. Ron Matross

Standing for election to second term: 8. Cathy Lee Gierke

9. Vernon Cardwell

Members leaving Board who need to be replaced Jeanne Markell (served 2 full terms) Richard Poppele (resigned) Frank Cerra (to be President-Elect)

Executive Committee members needing replacement Carl Adams (Treasurer, resigned) Lynn Anderson (Secretary, resigned) Jerry Rinehart (automatically replaced by new Past President, Bill Donohue Following discussion of Board demographics (see chart below) and important characteristics sought in nominees, the committee produced a substantial list of names to be considered and, subsequently, approached, regarding service in key UMRA leadership positions. Each committee member was assigned candidates for follow up conversations.

	Male	Female	P&A/CS	Faculty	Other/Spouse	Persons of Color
Exec Cmte (5)	4	1	4	1		
Board (12)	4	8	5	5	2	
Overall (17)	8	9	9	6	2	2

2019-2020 Board Demographics (as of March 2020)

During late February and early March, the committee contacted candidates to determine their interest in serving on the Board. As to be expected, several iterations of contact were required to achieve the final slate of candidates.

Due to the COVID 19 pandemic, all in person meetings were cancelled, but the Nominating Committee continued its work to assemble a full slate of candidates. This list was published in the April 2020 Newsletter.

Due to the cancellation of the annual May meeting (due to the COVID 19 pandemic), it was determined to hold the election electronically. Following publication of the Nominating Committee's slate of candidates, President Donohue sent a message to the full membership soliciting any additional nominations. Receiving no additional nominations, and no votes opposing the proposed slate, election by acclamation was declared and approved by the Board at its meeting on May 20, 2020.

The roster and table below identify the 2020-21 UMRA leadership positions (with terms of service for the Board members) and an updated demographic table. For the record, the list of recent UMRA presidents has been updated and included below as well.

UMRA Key Personnel 2020-21

Officers and Board Members*

Officers		
President	Frank Cerra	612-201-1563
President-Elect	Jan Morlock	612-518-1091
Past President	Bill Donohue	651-644-9033
Treasurer	Greg Hestness	612-490-7046
Secretary	Gary Engstrand	612 799 0990

Other Board Members		
Past President**	Jerry Rinehart	612-802-5627
Past President**	Chip Peterson	651-699-4286
Past President**	Donna Peterson	651-386-2641
2020-2023	Vern Cardwell	612-666-8197
2020-2023	Will Craig	612-377-8888
2020-2023	Cathy Lee Gierke	651-208-8402
2019-2022	Eric Hockert	651-528-8099
2020-2023	Cherie Hamilton	612-929-0233
2018-2021	Claudia P a rliament	612-986-5678
2019-2022	Ron Matross	651-895-9980
2020-2023	Barb Shiels	651-329-9656
		763-786-2287
2020-2023	Jan McCulloch	
2020-2023	Cathrine Wambach	763-486-7030
2018-2021	KaiMay Terry	952-933-4963
2018-2021	Gloria Williams	952-920-7553

*New and re-elected members terms are indicated in boldface. Roster updated 9/2/2020. **Past president: non-immediate past presidents are asked to continue on the board until they have had six-years of board service.

2020-2021 Board Demographics (as of July 1, 2020)

	Male	Female	P&A/CS	Faculty	Other/Spouse	Persons of Color
Exec Cmte (5)	4	1	4	1		
Board (12)	4	8	7	5	2	
Overall (17)	8	9	11	6	2	2

Recent Past UMRA presidents

Year as Pres.	Name	Gender	Employ type	Employment unit
2020-21	Frank Cerra	М	Fac	Surgery
2019–20	Bill Donohue	М	P&A	General Counsel Office
2018–19	Jerry Rinehart	М	P&A	CEHD
2017–18	Chip Peterson	М	P&A	Learning Abroad
2016–17	Donna Peterson	F	P&A	Government Relations
2015–16	Jean Kinsey	F	Fac	Marketing Communication
2014–15	Hal Miller	М	Fac	Continuing Educ & Extension
2013–14	John Adams	М	Fac	Geography & HHH
2012–13	Ron Anderson	М	Fac	Sociology
2011–12	Cal Kendall	М	Fac	English
2010–11	John Anderson	М	Fac	Biochemistry

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry Rinehart, Chair, UMRA Nominating Committee 2019-20